By Cynthia Shroyer
Pine Bluffs Post staff 

Johnstone to renew oath


Mayor Judy Johnston won the confidence vote in Burns on Tuesday, with 51 people casting votes for the incumbent, who was running unopposed. Seven write-in candidates also received votes in the mayoral race. Donna Black, Matt Fields and Vernon Testerman Sr. all received two votes. Vernon Testerman Jr., Jim Acton, Brian Mills and Harvey Humphrey each received a vote.

There were two races for council seats in Burns, as two four-year seats and one two-year seat were available.

Running for the four-year seat were incumbents Jan Gray and Harvey Humphrey. Jim Clark and Dennis Bastian also threw their hats in the ring. Humphrey and Bastian won the vote with 45 and 40 ballots cast respectively. Gray received 23 votes and Clark received 16. Write-ins receiving votes were Black (3), Matt Mikesell (1), Bill Kimbrough (2) and Richard Sawicki (1).

Steve Newton and Charlie Vosler were in the race for the two-year seat vacated by Phil Oakes. Both would be new to the council, but have served in other capacities in the town. Vosler won with 40 votes. Newton had 19 votes. Write-ins for this race were Gray with three and Sawicki, Kimbrough and Black with one each.

Sixty-nine voters came out to cast ballots. The swearing in of the mayor and council will take place prior to the June 10 regular meeting of council.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018