Pine Bluffs Post - Serving all of Eastern Laramie County since 1908

By Cynthia Shroyer
Pine Bluffs Post staff 

Budy bests the bulls at soggy =G Rodeo


Cynthia Shroyer

Rain poured on the Pine Bluffs Rodeo arena Friday night but the =G Rodeo series went on with just a bit of a delay in the breakaway roping. Chase Stricklin was the first rider in the ring after the rain. He stayed atop his steer to score 68 points and a $10 payout. Will Budy was the only bull rider to keep his seat. He earned 65 points in open bull riding. There were no qualified rides in the novice bull riding event.

Reata Hoar and Kenna Noble took first and second respectively in novice goat tying; Hoar with a time of 10.3 seconds and Noble in 13.6 seconds.

Hoar took second in open goat tying to Kaylee Seeds. Seeds won with a time of 8.3 seconds to Hoar’s 8.9.

Junior/Senior Team roping was led by Cody Lane and Cole Lane. They won with a time of 9.6 seconds. Tanya and Owen Wahlert finished in 9.8 seconds for second place. Connor and Aaron Mordahl teamed up to take third in 11.8 seconds.

Cole Lane was the single qualifier in novice breakaway roping, finishing in 2.6 seconds. Sadie Thompson used the same amount of time to win breakaway roping. Kerby Anderson placed second in 3.9 seconds, and Seeds took the third spot in 6.8 seconds.

Calf roper Britt Bath was the winner in that event with a 14.9 second finish. Paul Fornstrom took second in 17.5 seconds. Tim Thompson and Grant Godfrey combined talents to win century team roping. Their winning time was 6.9 seconds. Bret and Bruce Nelson paired up for a 7.9 second ride to take second. Bruce took on a second pairing with Kim Cox to finish in third place.

Team ropers Justin Smith and Aaron Mohdahl won their event in 6.5 seconds. Tara and Clay Nab teamed up to take second in 6.7 seconds. The team of Marty Miller and Joe Fales used 7 seconds flat to take third place, while Phil Schuman and Rick Shaw came in fourth with 7.2 seconds.

Sadie and Taylor Thompson joined forces to top the competition in mixed team roping in 7.3 seconds. With a time of 8 seconds flat, Lexi Bath and Ryan Anderson earned the second place position. Shaw paired up with Justene Hirsig and came up with an 8.3 second time, good enough for third place. Marina and Jhett Hadley earned fourth place with a time of 8.6 seconds.

PeeWee barrel rider Seth Glass beat the competition with a time of 16.988. He was followed by Layne Burnett (18.291), Hannah Kinnison (18.850), McKenzie Hupp (19.914), Tate Bishop (20.746), and Tasha Hansen (21.376).

The leader in 1D barrels was Jorry Lammers with a time of 15.958. Katie Klinginsmith was second in 16.310. Bailey Long used 16.380 seconds to place third and a time of 16.514 by Cheyenne Choate earned fourth place.

In 2D barrels the top time was turned in by Rylee Anderson (16.986). Megan Pratt took second in 17.048 and Samanthe Pratt was third with a time of 17.485 seconds.

Taunya Crews led the 3D barrels, completing the circuit in 18.359 seconds. Heather Lake followed in 18.490 seconds, with Paige Cross finishing third in 18.552 seconds.

The =G Rodeo series continues Friday evening at the Pine Bluffs Rodeo Arena. Events begin at 5 p.m.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 05/08/2020 14:18