Pine Bluffs Post - Serving all of Eastern Laramie County since 1908

By Charlene Smith
Pine Bluffs Post staff 

Meet our future high school football, cross country and volleyball teams


Charlene Smith

Jr. high Lady Hornets take second! Coach Nancy Malcolm is not quiet about her pride in the Pine Bluffs junior high volleyball team. “Our junior high team was wonderful,” said Malcolm. “We were very small in numbers but this team has a lot of heart.” Malcolm commended the girls for being “coachable” and pushing themselves in practice. Even though it was the smallest team Malcolm had ever coached, 12 girls suiting up, she said it was easier to find the strengths in each player. “I am very happy with the progress we have made so far,” Malcolm said even before placing second in the SEWAC after Saturday’s tournament. The eight players going into high school next year look to improve on the skills learned by the small team experience and graduate their skills to the next level. Team picture includes Torri Long, Karla De La Cruz, Kammie Ragsdale, Allysa Miller, Cailyn Popham, Tillie Heithoff, Kayla McCune, Nora Vega, Tyne Vialpando, Kenzie Graves, Courtney Herman, Paige Thompson, and coach Nancy Malcolm.

Charlene Smith

Undefeated and top of SEWAC! The Pine Bluffs junior high football team accomplished something not many teams do. They went undefeated this season. The 17 boys out, which included 12 seventh graders and 5 eighth graders, will bring their experiences and the flavor of a winning season to the high school level in the next few years. But this year, this moment, they bask in the glow of a 5-0 season. Although three of their games they kept their opponent out of the end zone, the Southeast game went into three overtimes. With the win over Lusk Saturday morning, Pine Bluffs is the 2013 SEWEC champion. Front row left Coach Matt Thurin, Colby Lamb, Corbin Martinez, Andrew Fornstrom, Jack Heithoff, Zeb Ornelas, Ishmael DePaulitte, Beau Scarborough, Trenton Popham, Mark Merryfield, coach Pat Walter. Back row left John Merryfield, Doug Fornstrom, Isaiah Montanes, Bradley Scmidl, Wyatt Fornstrom, Hayes Fornstrom, Hunter Jeffres, Josh Herman.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019