Wyoming once part of four areas controlled by four different countries


It is highly possible that there is a small spot in Wyoming which once was bordered by four different territories, parts of which together became the future home of our great state.

This spot is somewhere in a corner of Sweetwater, Fremont, Natrona or Carbon County, according to a map created by Velma Linford in her amazing history of Wyoming in 1947 called Wyoming Frontier State.

This one amazing spot touched what were once Texas in 1845, Mexico in 1848, the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, and Oregon in 1846. These areas were once controlled by four independent countries of France, England, Me...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019