Pine Bluffs Post - Serving all of Eastern Laramie County since 1908

2022 Department of Wyoming American Legion State Convention


Penny Merryfield/Pine Bluffs Post

Above: New Officers of the American Legion Department of Wyoming raise their hands to be sworn in as the new officers for 2022-2023 year. L-R: Department Adjutant - Jim Merryfield, Post 60 Pine Bluffs; Department Finance Officer - Deanna Hurless Post 14 Laramie; Second Vice Commander - Bill Barnes Post 6 Cheyenne; First Vice Commander - Doug Johnson Post 8 Dougals; Department Commander Mike Hobbs -Post 28 Green River.

Members of the American Legion from across the state of Wyoming converged on the town of Green River for their 103rd Department Convention.

While the Legion members took one meeting room at the Hampton Inn, the American Legion Department of Wyoming Auxiliary held their 101st Department Convention as well, in the next meeting room.

Down the hall and around the corner the Sons of the American Legion held their convention as well.

During convention, reports are given for the year, as well as a financial report given by Finance Officer Deanna Hurless. This report includes all expenses, and income for the Department of Wyoming.

The various committees in the department gave their reports to conclude the year end. Don York, Oratorical Chairman, gave a report on the Oratorical contest from state to national for high schoolers.

More reports were given for Boys State, Shooting Sports, Legion Baseball and the newly formed Women's Fast Pitch Softball. Ed Morrow gave a report on the Boy Scouts.

Following scouts, Ken Persson Sr. gave a report on American Legion High School Rodeo. "This is a wonderful program and the high schoolers work hard and compete hard." he said.

Tim Sheppard, Wyoming Veterans Commission Director spoke to the members with regards to information and programs for veterans.

Penny Merryfield/Pine Bluffs Post

Above: Out going Commander Jerry Clark with newly elected Commander Mike Hobbs.

Before new officer elections, year awards were handed out. They were: Educator of the Year – Victoria Hemphill – Green River; Law Enforcement Officer of the Year – Clyde Harris - Wheatland; Firefighter of the Year – Gene Diedtrich – Newcastle; Outstanding Post Adjutant – Brian Yeager – Post 307 – Gillette College; Educator of the Year – Victoria Hemphill – Green River; EMT of the Year – Dana Sanborn - Wheatland; Chaplain of the Year – Mick Bohn - Newcastle: Legionnaire of the Year – Vicky Gearhart – Post 13 - Buffalo; Outstanding Club Manager/Bartender – Anne Brown – Laramie; Outstanding Post Commander – Bobby Warner – Post 32 - Greybull; District Commander of the Year – Russell Stafford – District 4; Americanism Plaque – Hughes-Pittinger Post 26 – Powell; Community Service Small – Richard Pogue Post 81 – Ft. Washakie; Community Service Large – Hughes-Pittinger Post 26 - Powell

BANTAM MALLET– Gillette College Post 307 – 135.00% LIGHT MALLET – Ferdinand Brandstetter Post 1 – 103.33%; MEDIUM MALLET – Medicine Butte Post 41 – 102.63%; HEAVY MALLET – Jackson Hole Post 43 – 116.36%; BIG MALLET – Don Stough Post 33 – 105.43%.

Following awards, the elections of new officers took place.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021