LCSD No. 2 Recognize Hornets Football Champs


December 15, 2022

Karen Lipska/Pine Bluffs Post

Above: Members of the Laramie County School District No. 2 School Board members with the Pine Bluffs High School Hornets Champion football team and coaching staff.

The board gave recognition to a well deserved team from the school district. Laramie County School District #2 had the committee of whole meeting on December 7th at 7:00 p.m.

First was the welcoming of the three new board members which were Cody Nusbaum, Kendra Roeder, and Michael Lerwick. Lady chairman Julianne Randall informed everyone that the reorganization of the board leadership and the appointment of the Rec Board members will be at the regular meeting on Monday December 12th.

Laramie Country School District #2 recognized the Pine Bluffs High School Football team, the Hornets (the champions), who won the 1A 9-man State Football. Pine Bluffs principle Todd Sweeter introduced the coaches, Will Gray, Brian Anderson, Travis Werner, Nick Yelton, Brad Shmidl and 36 players. He then acknowledged award winners. All-Conference players are Ryan Fornstrom, Abe Serrano, Stu Lerwick, James Langlois, Collin Jessen, Dalton Schaefer, Alex Sloan, Mitchell Birkhofer, Tayler Beeken, Diego Paniagua, and David Merryfield.

All- Conference Honorable are Shawn Shmidl, Justin Lerwick, Kashten Martinez and Jace Pierantoni.

All-State players are Ryan Fornstrom, Stu Lerwick, James Langlois, Collin Jessen, Dalton Schaefer, Alex Sloan, Tayler Beeken, and Diego Paniagua.

Players of the Year are Stu Lerwick with Conference and state offensive player of the year; Ryan Fornstrom was Conference and state Defensive player of the year; and Diego Paniagua was Conference and State Linemen of the year.

The School Improvement plan training was presented by Beth Lougee, Wyoming Department of Education statewide system of support program manager, Jen Lahiff, Wyoming Department of accountability supervisor and Bill Pannell, Wyoming department of education accreditation supervisor. They went through an overview of the school improvements plan, state statutes and the role of the school board along with the SIP process guide.

Misty Gallegos presented that enrollment has increased since last month and gave a summary of the financial report.

Tracy Schneider, curriculum director, presented the policy of employment of students. The policy is needing some work. Board trustee Billie Wilson and board trustee Mike Olsen had concerns about the policy. Schneider is cleaning up some concerns of advanced college placement and graduation requirements.

The Burns Future Farmers of America Advisor Will Luna, President Katherine Olsen and Vice- president Hayden Hubbard put together a presentation of what the Burns FFA has done so far this year. For the Laramie County Fair they had 16 members in the Kiwanis sale. At the State Fair Katherine Olsen had a Champion sheep. The Burns FFA put on a barbecue at the beginning of school to introduce the officers and the new advisor. There were 160 people that attended. The FFA members did well at the Laramie County Community College livestock judging. Hayden Hubbard told about his experience on going to National FFA. He took bronze in the Creed Contest. Luna said, "Eight members went to the Fall State Leadership conference in Casper. The members enjoyed it." The Burns FFA chapter helped with the Cheyenne Livestock Expo. They put 640 pens together. And last but not least the Burns FFA had a float in the Cheyenne Christmas parade. 50 percent of the chapter was on the the float.

Laramie County School District #2 Superintendent Justin Pierantoni was contacted by Laramie County Treasurer Debra Lee about the trustee boundary line. There are some roads that do not exist any more. The school board wants to think about how to go about it.

Todd Sweeter, principal of Pine Bluffs High School discussed how the high school is doing. He had issues with the ACT scores. But with the second round of testing and the great burritos that his daughter made the scores are up.

Next was facilities report gave by Kim Nelson. They installed security film on the Pine Bluffs Elementary windows and they are working on the first phase of LED classroom lighting,

Karen Lipska/Pine Bluffs Post

Above: Katherine Olsen, President of Burns FFA, FFA Advisor Will Luna, and Hayden Hubbard, Vice President Burns FFA.

Shannon Perlinski gave a report on the special education.

In closing, the board of the trustees said they had a great time at the Wyoming School Board Association 2022 annual Conference.

The next regular meeting is Monday December 12th at 7:00 p.m. and the next COW meeting is January 4, 2023 at Burns High School at 7:00 p.m.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023